Letter to My Future Child(ren)


Letter to My Future Child(ren)
M.D. Wright
3.30.2017

One thing I want you to always take with you is that I already do and will always love you from heaven and back. I promise to teach you everything that I know. I promise to provide you with the foundation to learn, to grow, to expand in understanding throughout your life beyond what I could ever teach you. I am going to sing to you while you are in your mother’s womb. I am going to read to you while you are in your mother’s womb. I promise to be an attentive ear when you have concerns. I promise to not trivialize your trials and tribulations in life, as I have gone before you and experienced many of these things in order that you never feel alone or misunderstood.

Related image

I will support you in your endeavors, whatever they may be; whether or not I agree with your plans. I will provide guidance when I think you are heading toward a situation that you are unprepared to handle. I promise to never hold you back from pursuing what you have dreamed to do with your life, lest you resent me for the rest of your life. As God wills, I will be here for your formative years, grade school education, I will be front and center for your sporting events, ensembles, your baptism, your first communion, and, as God wills, your wedding(s) and your children’s birth, so that our legacy can be continued long after I am gone.

Never forget these things as we traverse this life. It will be uncomfortable at times. It will be joyous at other times. Sometimes rocky moments will come along and cause us to not see eye to eye about everything, but never lose sight of the fact that I love you throughout it all. Ultimately, you shall overcome all things because I will demonstrate to you the love that God has shown me, and through Christ who strengthens me, so shall He you.

Always remember these things.

Love,

Dad.

 

Feel free to share your thoughts here...

