Boss of All Bosses III: The Review


Boss of All Bosses III: The Review

 M.D. Wright

12.26.2011

 

I copped BOAB3 about two weeks ago, and while it did not quite live up to the hype nor expectations, it was very solid. Good listening for me through the winter, which is what BOAB series has done for me over the past three winters. I’ve had time to run everything back about 10 times (and about 4-5 of the songs about 100 times apiece total).

 

Here’s the review:

 

1. Boss of All Bosses 3.0: The Intro.

Killa always has the best intros. Nothing has changed. A bunch of trash talk, tough beat and setting the table for “oh’twelve” with VADO and DJ Drama.

 

2. Get Right.

This beat starts out nice, but it is too busy. Lazy lyrics. Cam puts out too much leftover material when it’s just him dolo on a record. It’s not terrible, but not great, either. Just average.

 

3. Harlem Wit It (Sour Life Remix).

High point on the mixtape. Vintage Cam (although the entire first verse is from the song “Sour Life” from earlier in 2011). Dipset/UN always has the best samples. The hook is hilarious.

 

4. Keys in the Damier.

Sloppy production. Killa is infatuated with the Lakers since 2002. No sight of VADO until the 7th track on the mixtape. I know VADO was working on his Slime Flu II this year, but this is seizure-inducing. I don’t like it.

 

5. Hood Shhh.

I like this. Spooky beat. Shouts to all the cats that Cam came up with. Free Max B.

 

6. All My Life.

I like this sample. Smooth, the beat is somewhat discordant, though. Sounds like a RZA beat from years ago. Killa used to be the best at riding beats, and while he still is, this isn’t one of his best efforts in that regard. Above-average lyrics, but not great.

 

7. Not Us.

LMFAO.

 

8. Can’t Help You.

I friggin’ love the way they flipped that Lost Generation sample. ARAABMUZIK is a beast with the loops and drum kits when he picks the proper samples. Could have been mastered and mixed tighter (the bridge between the first and second verses during the hook was sloppy). Love the way Araab used the sample during the intro, hook and then the outro. I usually hate hearing Drama screaming, but his chatter at the beginning and end of this joint is downright hilarious.

 

“My flow dirty, my fit clean, my dough dirty, my brick clean… she so dirty, but this bitch mean… she call me Prime Time, been that since 16… HAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA”

 

9. Ric Flair II.

VADO loves NBA point guards. But we knew that. TERRIBLE “hook”. Shouts to the New York Football Giants. Thanks, V-Twizzy.

 

10. From the Bottom (Feat. Jim Jones).

This reminds me of some BOAB, BOAB II joint. Jimmy needs to get off that country flow, it’s not becoming.

 

11. Cold World.

This is okay, different beat than you are accustomed to from Killa, but it works. VADO is inconspicuously absent from this track.

 

12. Motivation.

I FRIGGIN’ LOVE THIS BEAT. Cam goes in on this, showing that he still got it (never lost it, just became lazy).

 

13. Bang, Bang.

Something makes this song catchy. I can’t put my finger on it. Maybe it is the harmony from the sample. Maybe it is the goofy sample. VADO had me dying on his verse. “ROBERT HORRY WIT RINGS, EVERY KING GOT A STORY, HA HAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA.”

 

14. Laying You Down.

This is OK, not bad, not great, but something to ride to.

 

15. Livin’ Our Life.

Sounds like they sampled an 80s video game and some techno music sequences. I can get wit it, though, honestly. Good ridin’ music, and also that house party music where you’re not really listening to the song, but the beat and the vibe.

 

16. Talk My Nigga.

Never liked this song from the first time I heard it. Another classic situation where they throw songs that are over a year old on a “new” project. VADO spits, but the concept of the song is stupid.

 

17. Never in a Million.

Killa is the best trash talker in the game. PERIOD. I actually like this joint. Another clever sample and mix. Araab is at it again.

 

18. Mobb Shhh.

Love the 20s mobster quotes. SLIME (Abe) ROTHSTEIN.

 

Just listen to every single word spoken on here. DO YOURSELF THAT FAVOR. This is some real G shit.

 

19. Oohh.

NO.

 

20. And You Don’t Stop.

You generally want to close out a record with a strong joint, and some shit talking (at least that is Cam’s standard). They failed here.

 

OVERALL: This was lazily done. I expected more. More new tracks, better production, better lyrics (although they were above-average overall), more joints with Cam and VADO both. Thankfully, there weren’t tons of features like 2.8. However, I’m going to need them to do better in the future, because VADO’s chance to shine goes by the wayside. If he doesn’t take full advantage by summer 2012, he’s going to end up going the route of JR Writer and Hell Rell, which would be unfortunate, as both of them have immense talent.

 

SCORE: 7 OF 10.

 

Feel free to share your thoughts here...

