Fantasy Football? NO THANKS.


Fantasy Football? NO THANKS.
M.D. Wright
9.1.2011

Edited: 10.10.2013.

Most of you know that I have done Fantasy Football since 2002. At first, it was a company pool, a group of fellow sports enthusiasts from my days at Aetna. Fantasy Football was exciting (as well as Fantasy Baseball, with its daily implications, as opposed to Fantasy Football’s weekly-only implications), and just another way to build camaraderie amongst colleagues outside of the otherwise-boring office.

I only won my league once in the 8 years that I played the entire year (I only participated for half of the 2008 season because I missed a while due to back surgery and several trips late in the year), got to the championship four times, finished last once and in the middle of the pack otherwise. Not much to go crazy about. One league I was in perennially for about 5 years was with former friends of mine, and it was all for bragging rights, no cash. I didn’t care ALL that much about my finish in the league, but more or less the management of the time.

SEGUE.

Who has time for all of that? Managing time between juggling two full-time Masters degree programs, working/trying to find another job and trying to rummage up something of a social life? There were many late Saturdays (or Thursdays and Mondays when I was unable to get to the computer) and I was unable to adjust my rosters before the games began that week. Between that, guys getting injured before or during a game, and suspensions, well, my summation about Fantasy Sports in general is this:

WE, AS FANS, ALREADY TAKE THE GAMES TOO SERIOUSLY AS IT IS.

In fantasy sports, it’s even more warped, because you place significance on players on teams that you hate. Wishing a player to do well for the Eagles, Cowboys or Patriots is disgusting to me. Fans in general go too far (myself included), spending hundreds on game tickets, jerseys, etc., all while getting too into a game that we have absolutely NONE impact on. Most non-sports fans think we’re irrational as it is, why add to it?

THE ULTIMATE REASON WHY I AM DONE WITH FANTASY SPORTS?

I FOUND MYSELF CHEERING FOR A PHILADELPHIA EAGLES PLAYER TO DO WELL VERSUS THE GIANTS IN THE GAME THAT WE LOST IN WEEK 15.

That was it for me. Not only did I lose my fantasy match by 1.06 points that week, I went on to lose the first playoff round because HALF my lineup was out with injuries (including Hakeem Nicks, who did not play vs. WSH Week 17 in the 2010 Season).

I’m DONE, guys.

I never say never, but DEFINITELY not this year. I got enough real-time, actual worries to fulfill, no need for me to add to my stress watching a fantasy football team go down the drain. People are maniacs now. I only played fantasy football in 2012 because I had just been laid off my Chase and wasn’t working. Otherwise, I simply do not have the time. Nothing worse than to be watching a game or hosting a game thread and having people only chime in with the, “I need Reggie Bush to get into the end zone here!!!” instead of being able to talk X’s and O’s and assessing blocking and defense. It’s annoying.

Hope this assuages peoples’ concerns — particularly those who ask me for fantasy football advice annually.

Fantasy Sports 1

Feel free to share your thoughts here...

