2010 NFL All-Decade Team (2001-2009)

2010 NFL All-Decade Team (2001-2009)
M.D. Wright

***EDITOR’S NOTE: Wow, January flew by. We’re already in February. Before we know it, we’ll be celebrating New Year’s again, God-willing. Yikes.

Since we are heading into a slow news week in Sports, especially with the media making up stories out of thin air leading up to Super Bowl XLIV coming up this Sunday, I thought it was a good time to look back at the previous decade and do an All-Decade Team.

By the numbers —
1 Head Coach
1 Offensive Coordinator
1 Defensive Coordinator
3 Quarterbacks
4 Runningbacks
1 Fullback
6 Wide Receivers
3 Tight Ends
5 Offensive Linemen
10 Defensive Linemen
6 Outside Linebackers
4 Inside/Mike Linebackers
6 Cornerbacks
6 Safeties
1 Punter
1 Place Kicker
1 Special Teams Ace
1 Kick Returner
1 Punt Returner
* Must have played at least 5 years in NFL between 2000-2009.
** Patriots being caught for cheating in 2006 taken into account, but objectivity remains.
*** If Player/Coach has passed away, they will not get a spot over a living player or coach, but rather a memoriam, as they were also personal favorites
Head Coach: Bill Belichick, New England Patriots
Offensive Coordinator: Tom Moore, Indianapolis Colts
Defensive Coordinator: Steve Spagnuolo, New York Giants
* IN MEMORIAM: Defensive Coordinator: Jim Johnson, Philadelphia Eagles
Quarterback: Peyton Manning, Indianapolis Colts
Quarterback: Tom Brady, New England Patriots
Quarterback: Kurt Warner, St. Louis Rams, New York Giants, Arizona Cardinals
* IN MEMORIAM: Quarterback: Steve McNair, Tennessee Titans, Baltimore Ravens
Runningback: LaDainian Tomlinson, San Diego Chargers
Runningback: Edgerrin James, Indianapolis Colts, Arizona Cardinals, Seattle Seahawks
Runningback: Fred Taylor, Jacksonville Jaguars, New England Patriots
Runningback: Tiki Barber, New York Giants
Fullback: Lorenzo Neal, Cincinnati Bengals, San Diego Chargers
Wide Receiver: Randy Moss, Minnesota Vikings, Oakland Raiders, New England Patriots
Wide Receiver: Terrell Owens, San Francisco 49ers, Philadelphia Eagles, Dallas Cowboys, Buffalo Bills
Wide Receiver: Marvin Harrison, Indianapolis Colts
Wide Receiver: Hines Ward, Pittsburgh Steelers
Wide Receiver: Torry Holt, St. Louis Rams, Jacksonville Jaguars
Wide Receiver: Donald Driver, Green Bay Packers
Tight End: Tony Gonzalez, Kansas City Chiefs, Atlanta Falcons
Tight End: Dallas Clark, Indianapolis Colts
Tight End: Antonio Gates, San Diego Chargers
Left Tackle: Johnathan Ogden, Baltimore Ravens
Left Guard: Steve Hutchinson, Seattle Seahawks, Minnesota Vikings
Center: Kevin Mawae, Seattle Seahawks, New York Jets, Tennessee Titans
Right Guard: Will Shields, Kansas City Chiefs
Right Tackle: Damien Woody, New England Patriots, New York Jets
Defensive End: Michael Strahan, New York Giants
Defensive End: Dwight Freeney, Indianapolis Colts
Defensive End: Jason Taylor, Miami Dolphins (2), Washington Redskins
Defensive End: Julius Peppers, Carolina Panthers
Defensive End: Simeon Rice, Arizona Cardinals, Tampa Bay Buccaneers
Defensive Tackle: Warren Sapp, Tampa Bay Buccaneers, Oakland Raiders
Defensive Tackle: Casey Hampton, Pittsburgh Steelers
Defensive Tackle: Jamal Williams, San Diego Chargers
Defensive Tackle: Albert Haynesworth, Tennessee Titans, Washington Redskins
Defensive Tackle: Vince Wilfork, New England Patriots
Outside Linebacker: Derrick Brooks, Tampa Bay Buccaneers
Outside Linebacker: DeMarcus Ware, Dallas Cowboys
Outside Linebacker: Lance Briggs, Chicago Bears
Outside Linebacker: Terrell Suggs, Baltimore Ravens
Outside Linebacker: Adalius Thomas, Baltimore Ravens, New England Patriots
Outside Linebacker: Joey Porter, Pittsburgh Steelers, Miami Dolphins
Inside/Middle Linebacker: Ray Lewis, Baltimore Ravens
Inside/Middle Linebacker: Brian Urlacher, Chicago Bears
Inside/Middle Linebacker: Zach Thomas, Miami Dolphins, Dallas Cowboys
Inside/Middle Linebacker: Al Wilson, Denver Broncos
Cornerback: Champ Bailey, Washington Redskins, Denver Broncos
Cornerback: Charles Woodson, Oakland Raiders, Green Bay Packers
Cornerback: Asante Samuel, New England Patriots, Philadelphia Eagles
Cornerback: Ty Law, New England Patriots, New York Jets (2), Kansas City Chiefs, Denver Broncos
Cornerback: Rashean Mathis, Jacksonville Jaguars
Cornerback: Antoine Winfield, Buffalo Bills, Minnesota Vikings
Strong Safety: Adrian Wilson, Arizona Cardinals
Strong Safety: John Lynch, Tampa Bay Buccaneers, Denver Broncos
Strong Safety: Kerry Rhodes, New York Jets
Free Safety: Troy Polamalu, Pittsburgh Steelers
Free Safety: Ed Reed, Baltimore Ravens
Free Safety: Brian Dawkins, Philadelphia Eagles, Denver Broncos
*IN MEMORIAM: Sean “Meast” Taylor #21, Washington Redskins
Punter: Shane Lechler, Oakland Raiders
Place Kicker: Sebastian Janikowski, Oakland Raiders
Special Teams Ace: Larry Izzo, Miami Dolphins, New England Patriots
Punt Returner: Devin Hester, Chicago Bears
Kick Returner: Dante Hall, Kansas City Chiefs, St. Louis Rams



Feel free to share your thoughts here...

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s